Public School Interns/Y-VIPS

Dwight Hall Public School Intern Program

The Dwight Hall Public School Interns program (PSIs) is a two-year program where students serve as liaisons between a New Haven public school and the Yale community by strengthening current volunteer efforts in the schools and by finding new ways to match resources at Yale with the needs of the school.

PSIs spend time at their school each week, becoming experts on the school community and offering direct service to teachers, students, and administrators. Interns might provide the school with individual tutors or special one-time programs to enrich current lessons, for example. Interns work closely with contacts at the school to discuss the role of Yale volunteers and problems the school might be facing. 

PSIs also are the eyes and the ears of the Dwight Hall Education Network, observing the work of various Dwight Hall groups in PSI schools.

Who We Are

Public School Intern applications for the 2021-2023 Cohort are now open. 

K-8

Edie Abraham-Macht (edie.abraham-macht@yale.edu) - Worthington Hooker School/Special Project

Danielle Castro (danielle.castro@yale.edu) – Fair Haven School
Francesca Dezza Parada (
francesca.dezzaparada@yale.edu) - East Rock Community & Cultural Studies Magnet School/Special Project
Nandan Patel (
nandan.patel@yale.edu) - Celentano Biotech Health and Medical School/Special Project
Seyade Tadele (
seyade.tadele@yale.edu) - Wexler-Grant Community School/Special Project

High School

Leila Iskandarani (leila.iskandarani@yale.edu) – New Haven Academy/Special Project

Sasha Lee (sasha.lee@yale.edu) - Metropolitan Business Academy/Special Project

Natalie Troy (natalie.troy@yale.edu) – Cooperative Arts and Humanities High School/Special Project

New Haven Public School District*

*These two placements were new sites created this year to better provide virtual support to NHPS schools during COVID-19.

Courtney Nunley (courtney.nunley@yale.edu) – Social Emotional Learning Office/Special Project

Gema Martinez (gema.martinez@yale.edu) – English Language Learners Support/Special Project

Students in the Public School Internship Program serve in a critical role as liaisons between a New Haven public school and the Yale community by making a two-year commitment to one institution, learning the needs of the community and directing resources from Yale and Dwight Hall in support. In contrast to much volunteering that often begins with the volunteers deciding what to provide, PSIs ask what schools need and think creatively about how the Yale community can support them. 

We are seeking current first-years and sophomores to join our 2021-2023 cohort! Applications can be found here, and are due Sunday, April 4th at 11:59 PM ET. Feel free to reach out to Courtney Nunley or Nandan Patel, the PSI Co-Coordinators, at courtney.nunley@yale.edu and nandan.patel@yale.edu with any questions!

What We Do

In the past, PSIs have worked in a variety of areas:

  • Classroom assisting
  • Tutoring
  • Libraries
  • English language learners
  • Special education
  • Administrative offices
  • Afterschool programs
  • Coordinating Yale groups and resources
  • Event planning 

PSIs spend at least 4 hours at their school each week performing direct service, and around 4 hours doing off-site work, such as coordinating with student groups. In addition, PSIs submit weekly reflections on their experiences, and attend monthly meetings with guest speakers, discussions, and conversations.